CPN-UML Gen Secy Pokharel wins in Kathmandu 5

KATHMANDU: CPN-UML General Secretary Ishwor Pokharel representing the left alliance won a Kathmandu constituency 5 parliamentary seat by defeating Nepali Congress's Prakash Sharan Mahat with a wide margin of 9,860 votes.

Pokharel received 23,029 votes, while his nearest rival Mahat representing the democratic alliance managed 13,169 votes.

Meanwhile, Bibeksheek Sajha's Ujjwal Thapa only managed to garner 6,813 votes.