CPN-UML recommends candidates for Kanchanpur

Dhangadi, April 24

CPN-UML Kanchanpur has recommended names of candidates who will be contesting in the upcoming elections representing various local bodies in the district. The name list was forwarded to the party province committee yesterday.

“We’ve sent our recommendations; now it’s up to the province committee to pick the right candidate for each post,” said UML Kanchanpur under secretary Rana Bahadur Mahara, adding three names have been recommended for each mayoral post and at least one for the post of deputy mayor for each municipality.

As per sources, Ishwori Kharel, Surendra Bista and Nanda Dhami are the recommended names for the post of mayor for Bhimdatta Municipality. Punam Chand, Maya Pant and Laxmi BK have been recommended as candidates for the post of deputy mayor.

Similarly, for Shuklaphanta Municipality, Rana Bahadur Mahara, Bishnudatta Joshi and Bhagawati Malla have been recommended for the chief of municipality. Here, Anita Nepali, Tulasi Hamal and Monika Bhatta have been recommended for the post of vice-chairperson.

As for rural municipalities, Nirmal Rana and Diththa Rana have been recommended for the post of chief of Laljhandi Rural Municipality, whereas Dhana Bahadur Thapa and Lal Bahadur Rawat have been recommended for the same post for Beldandi Rural Municipality. Kusma Rana and Kamala Karki have been recommended for the post of deputy chairperson for Laljhandi and Beldandi rural municipalities respectively.

There are nine local bodies, including seven municipalities in the district.