EC to mobilise technical teams to facilitate NA vote counting

Kathmandu, January 18

The Election Commission said it would mobilise technical teams in the provinces to facilitate chief returning officers in vote counting of the National Assembly election slated for February 7.

EC Spokesperson Navaraj Dhakal said the poll panel had provided vote counting training to the technical teams today. He said the EC would also provide vote counting training to chief returning officers, who are judges of district courts.

The EC has set up office of the chief returning officer in Morang, Dhanusa, Lalitpur, Kaski, Dang, Surkhet and Doti districts for the NA election.

Dhakal said the EC would also provide training to political parties and NA election voters. There are 2,055 NA election voters — 1,505 chiefs and deputy chiefs of local levels and 550 provincial assembly members.

Chair of Makalu Rural Municipality of Sankhuwasabha district Khadka Katuwal died in road accident on Sunday.

Meanwhile, addressing the training programme for chief returning officers and other election officers at the EC’s Central office today, Chief Election Commissioner

Ayodhi Prasad Yadav said that help of all stakeholders — political parties, candidates, voters, security agencies and EC officials —  were crucial to hold the NA election in a free, fair and impartial manner.