Five UML leaders eyeing KMC mayoral post

Kathmandu, April 26

The CPN-UML said five of its leaders were lobbying for ticket to contest the mayoral post of Kathmandu Metropolitan City in the forthcoming local level elections slated for May 14.

The Kathmandu district committee of the principal opposition said Jeevan Ram Shrestha, Bidhya Sundar Shakya, Bidur Mainali, Basanta Manandhar and Kalpana Rijal were aspiring to contest for the post.

However, other prominent leaders, including former mayor of KMC, Keshav Sthapit, have not expressed interest in contesting the post, according Sabitra Bhusal, head of UML Kathmandu district committee.

She said Shanti Adhikari, Ratna Gurung, Bimala Khanal and some other leaders were lobbying for ticket to contest the deputy mayoral post. She, however, said the candidates had not been finalised and the paraty’s provincial committee would discuss the names and recommend candidates to the Standing Committee for final decision.

“We will shortlist the names within the next couple of days and send it to the provincial committee,” said Bhusal.

Meanwhile, UML Kathmandu district committee has also recommended candidates for mayors and deputy mayors of other municipalities in Kathmandu Valley. The district committee has recommended Subarna Shrestha and Shambhu Dulal for mayoral post of Sankarapur Municipality.

Likewise,  Ramsharan Dhungana and Mani Ram Phuyal have been recommended for mayoral post of Kageshwori-Manohara Municipality. Punya Chaulagain and Gopal Baral have been recommended as mayoral candidates for Gokarneshwor Municipality.

Similarly, Uddab Kharel and Mitharam Adhikari have been recommended for the mayoral post of Budhanilkantha Municipality; Shyam Ghimire and Rameshwor Bohara for mayoral post of Tarakeshwor Municipality; Prakash Shrestha for mayoral post of Nagarjun Municipality; and Punya Man Singh Basnet and Shree Ram Acharya for mayoral post of Dakshinkali Municipality.

Prahalad Karki and Ramesh Maharjan have been recommended as mayoral candidate of Chandragiri Municipality and Kritipur Municipality respectively.

Bhusal said the party’s provincial committee meeting would take a final decision on mayoral and deputy mayoral candidates.