Four-party meet

KATHMANDU: A meeting of four political parties of the democratic alliance - CPN-UML, Nepali Congress, Tarai Madhes Democratic Party and Sadbhavana Party - today decided to accept a decision of the parliamentary party of the Madhesi Janaadhikar Forum (MJF), also an alliance partner.

The meeting was held at the UML's parliamentary party office in Singha Durbar.

MJF's parliamentary party meeting had earlier decided to join the Madhav Kumar Nepal-led coalition government under parliamentary party leader Bijaya Kumar Gachchhadar's leadership.

MJF chief Upendra Yadav and his deputy J P Gupta and the MJF central committee meeting, however, were insisting that the party chief should lead the party in the coalition.

Yadav and Gupta command a majority in the party central committee while Gachchhadar is in the helm of the parliamentary party.