Mahantha Thakur has filed a writ petition at Supreme Court against the Election Commission decision that recognised the Upendra Yadav- Baburam Bhattarai faction of Janata Samajbadi Party-Nepal as the authentic side, on Friday.

Advocate Pradip Kumar Pathak registered the writ on behalf of Thakur, who was the senior-most chairperson in JSP-N's Executive committee which was formed in 2020 after a merger between Rashtriya Janata Party and Samajbadi Party.

In the writ, Thakur has demanded that the apex court stop enforcement of the EC's decision until a verdict is given on this case.

The EC had given validity to Yadav-Bhattarai faction after 34 of the 51 members of the executive committee supported their side during support verification process. Meanwhile, only 16 members had supported Thakur-Mahato while Resham Chaudhary remained neutral.

The EC said in its verdict that if the Thakur-Mahato faction sought to register a new party under Section 44 (6) of the Political Party Act, it would facilitate the registration as a separate political party.