PM Oli is ego-ridden: NC lawmakers

Kathmandu, April 2

Lawmakers of the opposition Nepali Congress party today lambasted the Prime Minister and Head of the Constitution Council, KP Sharma Oli alleging that he is attempting to hijack the state organs by misusing the two-third majority mandate to the government.

The lawmakers came down heavily on Oli at today’s Parliamentary Hearing Committee’s meeting.

NC Lawmaker Gynendra Bahadur Karki, who is also former finance minister, said that PM Oli is not abiding by the constitution and the laws. “Forget of listening to us, he even doesn’t want to see opposition parties. Thus, he deliberately forces us to go for a street protest,” he said, adding that such attitude of PM Oli would prove disastrous to the nation.

He urged PM Oli to strictly follow the constitution as well as the law and order under democratic system. “The arbitrary way with which the PM is trying to run the Constitutional Council cannot be justified,” he said adding that disobeying the constitution renders to a mere roll of paper.

Another NC Lawmaker, Puspa Bhusal said that the meetings of CC were not held as per the constitutional provisions. “There are certain procedures to hold meetings. But the PM Oli does not follow them at all,” she said. She also said that the PM wanted to weaken the parliamentary practice.

After a long gap today’s committee went smooth. Last time on February 3, the NC lawmakers had boycotted the meeting putting forth a written disagreement over the Constitutional Council’s decision to recommend heads of five constitutional commissions in the absence of its leader, Sher Bahadur Deuba. The meeting of the council on January 20 had recommended chairpersons for National Natural Resources and Fiscal Commission, Inclusive Commission, Madhesi Commission, Tharu Commission and Muslim Commission.

Today’s committee meeting also agreed to invite public complaints from general people against the chief election commissioner nominee, Dinesh Kumar Thapaliya and Inclusion Commission member nominee, Bishnu Maya Ojha. Both of them were nominated by the CC in its last meeting on March 25.

The meeting was called also to invite public complaints from general people against recently nominated Chief Election Commissioner, Thapaliya and Inclusion Commission Member, Bishnu Maya Ojha.