SC blocks 3 NEA board members from returning to office

KATHMANDU: The Supreme Court on Tuesday dismissed one of its earlier stay order, blocking three members of the Nepal Electricity Authority Board of Directors from joining the office.

A division bench of Chief Justice Sushila Karki and Justice Jagadish Sharma Paudel today pronounced that the December 28 stay order should not be given a continuity.

Earlier, a single bench of Justice Prakash Man Singh Raut had ordered that the government not implement the decision to sack Manoj Kumar Mishra, Laxman Prasad Agrawal and Suraj Lamichhane.

The government on December 19 had sacked the trio citing they tried to obstruct its Managing Director Kul Man Ghising’s efforts to end load shedding across the nation.