Admn committee to pick secretarial candidates

KATHMANDU; The Cabinet today decided to entrust its Administrative Committee with the responsibility of recommending 22 officials for the posts of secretaries that have fallen vacant in the government offices.

The committee, headed by Prime Minister Madhav Kumar Nepal, will recommend the officials to be promoted as secretaries. The committee has 66 officials to choose from, all suggested by Promotion Recommendation Committee.

Today’s cabinet meeting also approved the government’s policies and programmes, to be presented by President Dr Ram Baran Yadav in the parliament tomorrow.

The government transferred acting secretary Keshav Raj Kandel at Ministry of Land Reforms and Management to Office of the Nepal Trust. Acting secretary at Ministry of Federal Affairs, Constituent Assembly, Parliamentary Affairs and Culture Chhabiraj Panta has been transferred to Ministry of Land Reforms and Management.

The government decided to appoint Dr Chiranjibi Nepal as an advisor at Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Prof Surya Subedi has also been allowed to file his candidacy

for the member of International Law Commission.

The tenure of the task force formed by the erstwhile Maoist-led government to revise the list of indigenous nationalities has been extended by six months, while its coordinator Dr Om Gurung will be provided the perks at par with a state minister.

Digambar Raya has been appointed the chairman of Broad Janakpur Development Committee.