Bagmati Chief Minister Rajendra Prasad Pandey passed the floor test in the Provincial Assembly today.

Pandey was appointed chief minister of the province on October 28. He was readying to take the vote of the confidence from the assembly prior to Tihar.

A total of 59 lawmakers voted for Pandey, while 43 lawmakers voted against him. Two lawmakers stayed neutral in the voting process.

Chief Minister Pandey is now preparing a list of his Cabinet. Pandey is preparing to split the ministries to distribute portfolios to his supporting parties.

Pandey was appointed chief minister with support of the CPN-Maoist Centre, Nepali Congress, Janata Samajbadi Party-Nepal and CPN-Unified Socialist.

Chief Minister Pandey secured 23 votes from the Maoists, 22 from the Nepali Congress, 11 from CPN-Unified Socialist and one from Janata Samajbadi Party-Nepal.

CPN-UML and Bibeksheel Sajha Party had voted against Pandey.

A version of this article appears in the print on November 09, 2021, of The Himalayan Times.