CPN-UML Bagmati Province parliamentary party is planning to take action against some of its Provincial Assembly members. Clarification has been sought from PA members close to the Madhav Nepal faction of CPN-UML for their activities against the party.

PA members Astalaxmi Shakya, Rajendra Pande, Arun Prasad Nepal, Rachana Khadka, Kusum Kumar Karki, Basundhara Humagain, Munu Sigdel, Indramaya Gurung, Krishna Prasad Khanal, Basanta Prasad Manandhar, Shantiram Poudel, Mina Gyawali, Parbati Silwal and Laxman Lamsal have been told to submit their clarifications by 5:00pm tomorrow.

A meeting of the party's Bagmati Province Parliamentary Board held at Chief Minister Dormani Poudel's residence in Hetauda decided to seek clarification from the dozen-plus party leaders for holding factional gatherings, forming parallel committees, registering a no-confidence motion against the chief minister, and more recently betraying the party by choosing to support independent candidate Dr Khimlal Devkota, instead of their party's official candidate in the recently held by-election.

"Besides, the meeting also reviewed the steps taken by the province to control the pandemic and ratified a condolence proposal over the death of provincial assembly member Pashupati Chaulagain," said the party's Chief Whip Dipak Niraula.

UML's official party candidate Ram Bahadur Thapa was defeated by independent candidate Dr Devkota in the by-election held on Thursday for a vacant seat for the National Assembly from Bagmati Province. Of the total 105 votes cast at the province level, Thapa had received 45 votes; UML has 56 seats in the Provincial Assembly here.

Devkota had secured 58 votes.

Meanwhile, the kind of action to be taken against the PA members has been left to the discretion of the chief minister.

A version of this article appears in the print on May 23, 2021, of The Himalayan Times.