Nepal | July 17, 2019

Election activities intensifiy in Province 7

Himalayan News Service

Dhangadi, May 21

With the second phase of local level election drawing closer, election related activities have picked up in the districts of province 7.

The province’s one sub-metropolis, 33 municipalities, and 54 rural municipalities in Kailali, Kanchanpur, Dadeldhura, Baitadi, Doti, Achham, Bajura, Bajhang, and Darchula districts have been gripped with election fever.

Voters are now excited about casting their votes for their representatives in the local levels.

The Nepali Congress, CPN-UML, CPN-MC, and other parties are preparing to finalise their poll candidates. Leaders of all parties have started door-to-door campaigns to canvass for votes.

The Nepali Congress, CPN-UML, CPN-MC, RPP, Janamorcha, and other parties have started conducting various election related activities, including mass gatherings.

The only sub-metropolis of the province Dhangadi has drawn the attention of all political forces and residents of the province. Political leaders have raised the issue of drainage management, public land encroachment, road expansion, and management of drinking water supply as their election agendas.

Nepali Congress candidates were elected in both mayoral and deputy mayoral posts for two terms after the restoration of democracy in 1991 in Dhangadi Municipality.

Bhimdatta Municipality of far-western Kanchanpur district also has drawn many people’s attention as politics in far-western hill districts including Dadeldhura, Baitadi, and Darchula are influenced by political leadership of the municipality.

Leaders of different political forces have started conducting election related activities in Doti as well, the regional headquarters of the far-west region.


A version of this article appears in print on May 22, 2017 of The Himalayan Times.

Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories: