FSF-N wins mayor, NC deputy mayor in Birgunj

PARSA: Mayoral candidate of the Federal Socialist Forum-Nepal (FSN-N) has won the election while the Nepali Congress candidate for the deputy mayor's post was victorious in the Birgunj Metropolitan City in the third phase local level civic polls.

The third phase local level election was held in 136 local levels in eight districts of Province 2 on September 18.

As per the final results of the vote count that concluded this afternoon, FSF-N candidate Bijaya Kumar Sarawogi has been elected as the mayor with 19,393 votes while his closest rival Ajaya Kumar Dwivedi of the Nepali Congress secured 17,197 votes.

Likewise, Shanti Karki of the Nepali Congress was elected to the post of deputy mayor after securing 19,607 votes while her nearest competitor Pinky Yadav of the FSFN garnered 18,530 votes, the District Election Office, Parsa stated.

According to DEC, FSF-N has won in 12 wards, Nepali Congress in 10 wards, CPN-UML in five wards, the Rastriya Janata Party Nepal in three wards, while CPN Maoist Centre and the Nepal Democratic Forum won in one ward each.

A total of eighty four thousand one hundred sixty votes were cast in the local election in Birgunj Metropolitan City held in September 18.