First provincial assembly meeting of Province 4 begins

POKHARA: The first meeting of the provincial assembly of Province 4 has begun here in Pokhara since 11:02 am today.

The meeting is taking place under the chairmanship of the senior-most member of the provincial assembly, Janak Lal Shrestha, at the seminar hall of Town Development Training Centre at Nadipur.

The meeting would pass interim work procedure as well as select a presidium of the person chairing the meeting in absence of the speaker.

There are 60 provincial assembly members in Province 4. Out of the 60 members, Rajeev Gurung alias Dipak Manange, elected from Manang Constituency no. 1(B) has not yet taken the oath of office and secrecy, and has been at large since the apex court upheld his five-year sentence in a case of attempted murder.