The much-awaited election of the Federation of Nepali Journalists (FNJ) is taking place across the country today to elect new leadership in its all chapters, province committees and central committee.

This time FNJ has adopted the first-ever direct voting system to elect its central committee leadership. The voting process commenced at 9:00 am and will continue till 5 pm.

A total of 13,122 members are voting for new leadership in the central committee, province committees, district chapters, institutions (Pratishthan) and associate committees in 97 booths, including in 77 district chapters.

The voting of 42 Pratishthan chapters is taking place in different 19 booths while voting of an associate is to take place at the Dasharath Stadium.

According to Coordinator of FNJ Central Election Committee, Kapil Kafle, vote results of all levels would be published on April 8 if there was no obstruction anywhere.

Though new leadership has been elected unopposed in some chapters and Pratishthan, the official declaration of the same would be made today.

The election this time would elect more than 3,000 office-bearers and members consisting of over 33 percent women in the committees, Kafle informed.

The FNJ has adopted a complete inclusive system in all its structures. As many as 152 candidates have filed their candidacies for 49 posts in the central committee.

Bipul Pokharel, Nirmala Sharma and Gajendra Budhathoki have registered their candidatures for central leadership.

FNJ holds its election every three years for picking news leadership in its all committees. In the history of FNJ, there has been no repetition of leadership.

In line with the federal context, FNJ has developed its province committees and councils. FNJ has 10 province committees and councils. It has 77 district chapters, 42 Pratishthan chapters, 11 associate members, nine foreign chapters, 10 province council, 10 province committee and central council and central committee.