Govt to recognise 41 towns as municipalities

Bhairahawa, September 14 :

Minister for Local Development Rajendra Pandey, inaugurating a two-day workshop on “Comparative Study on the Restructuring of the State and Future Shape of Local Governance” here today, said the government will recognise 41 towns as municipalities. He said at least three towns in Lumbini zone will be recognised as municipalities.

Regulations authorising District Development Committees to control VDC secretaries are being worked out, Pandey said, stressing the need to go for the system of village and city governments.

The VDC secretaries should work for villagers, he said, adding that discussions are going on with the Maoists to make a conducive environment for facilitating the return of the displaced VDC secretaries to villages. “The VDC secretaries have become city-oriented and corrupt,” he charged, directing the former to stop resorting to propaganda and leave for the villages.