Rawal to challenge Oli for the top post


UML senior leader Ishwar Pokhrel has been elected the senior vice-chair of the party, unanimously.

Pokhrel was elected for the post as no other candidate contested the election for the said position.

Leader Subas Nembang, who has previously laid claim for the post, did not submit his candidacy, settling for general vice-chair, thus paving way for Pokhrel's solo win.

Meanwhile, Shankar Pokhrel has also been chosen the party's general secretary without facing an election.

Similarly, Pradeep Gyawali, Prithvi Subba Gurung and Bishnu Rimal have also been elected deputy general secretaries sans contest.

However, leader Bhim Rawal is all set to contend against incumbent chief of UML, KP Sharma Oli for the top post, undoing the letter's wish for a unanimous and undisputed fresh term.

Likewise, Ghanashyam Bhusal will fight for the post of vice-chair while Bhim Acharya will contest the election for the post of party secretary.

Earlier, chair KP Oli and his close confidants had made every possible move to turn this General Convention into a one-way show by means of unanimous pick-and-choose method for top posts. Unfortunately, Rawal, Bhusal and Acharya's candidacies have put a brake to the said plan, albeit against all odds.