KP Sharma Oli was elected chairman of the CPN-UML for another term today after he defeated Bhim Rawal in a one-sided contest after voting for the top post was held today on the concluding day of the party's 10th National General Convention in Chitwan. Oli got 1,837 votes, while Rawal polled just 223 votes.

Astalaxmi Shakya, Surendra Pandey, Subas Chandra Nembang, Bishnu Poudel, Yubaraj Gyawali, and Ram Bahadur Thapa were elected the party's vice-chairpersons. Ghanshyam Bhusal, who also contested the post of party's vice-chairperson was defeated. Shakya secured the most number of votes - 1,976 - whereas Bhusal got only 725 votes.

Gokarna Bista, Yogesh Bhattarai, Padma Kumari Aryal, Chhabilal Biswokarma, Lekhraj Bhatta, Raghubir Mahaseth, and Top Bahadur Rayamajhi were elected secretaries. Bhim Prasad Acharya and Tanka Prasad Karki, who were also in the contest for secretary's post, were defeated.

Kishor Kumar Adhikari, Tanka Aanbuhang, Til Kumar Meyangwo, Parsuram Adhikari, Basant Kumar Nembang, and Rajendra Kumar Rai were elected central members from open category in Province 1; Usha Kala Rai, Manju Bhandari, and Menuka Kafle were elected central members from the women's category in Province 1, whereas Kamala Kumari Oli and Kumari Kamala Bohora were elected from the women's category in Sudurpaschim.

The UML central committee has 301 members. Ishwar Pokharel and Shankar Pokhrel were elected unanimously senior vice-chairman and general secretary, respectively, whereas Prithivi Subba Gurung, Pradip Gyawali, and Bishnu Rimal were unanimously elected deputy-general secretaries.

Members of the party's Central Discipline Commission and Accounts Commission were elected unanimously.

Keshav Prasad Badal, Netra Prasad Panthi, and Bharat Raj Pahadi were unanimously elected chair, vicechair, and secretary of the Discipline Commission, respectively, whereas Pushparaj Kandel, Bishnu Panthi, and Shiv Adhikari were unanimously elected chair, vice-chair, and secretary of the Central Accounts Commission, respectively.

As many as175 office bearers and central committee members of the party were elected unanimously; 25 members were also elected unanimously to each of the party's Central Discipline Commission and Central Accounts Commission.

The UML's 10th National General Convention was inaugurated on the banks of the Narayani River on November 26, whereas the closed-door session was held in Sauraha.

175 office bearers, central committee members elected unanimously.

A version of this article appears in the print on December 1, 2021, of The Himalayan Times.