NC, UCPN-M, UDMF join hands to topple govt

Kathmandu, May 4

Nepali Congress, the main opposition party, has joined hands with the second-largest ruling coalition partner Unified CPN-Maoist and agitating Madhes-based parties to topple KP Sharma Oli-led government.

NC leaders held informal talks with UCPN-M leaders and a formal meeting with the leaders of the United Democratic Madhesi Front at the Legislature-Parliament building in New Baneshwor.

“We have offered the UCPN-M the post of prime minister in the coalition. Oli-led government has failed on every front, including implementation of the new constitution, and has not shown flexibility in resolving the national problems.

UCPN-M has accepted our proposal,” said a senior leader of the NC on condition of anonymity.

The UDMF leaders, according to Nidhi, agreed to support the new government to be formed under the NC’s initiative but they have said they would remain out of the government until their concerns are addressed.

“We support the Congress to

pull down the government,” said Madhesi Janaadhikar Forum Republic Chairman Raj Kishor Yadav after the meeting.

The UDMF leaders expressed their readiness to find an alternative to PM Oli, said NC Chief Whip Chin Kaji Shrestha.

Federal Socialist Forum-Nepal Chairman Upendra Yadav said the government had no right to remain in power, as it was mired in corruption and was involved in killing Madhesi protesters.

Sadbhawana Party Chair Rajendra Mahato said the UDMF asked the NC to make its stance clear vis-à-vis front’s 11-point demands.

Mahato said the front leaders told Deuba that Oli-led government adopted repressive measures to crush Madhes movement but the UDMF could not be part of any new government unless UDMF’s demands were met.

“We told Deuba that we might think positively to help form new government if the NC made its stance clear vis-à-vis our 11-point demands and responds positively on our demands.

If the UCPN-M too seeks our support to form a new government we will seek its stance vis-à-vis our demands,” Mahato added.

NC will register a no-confidence motion against the Oli-led government immediately after the UCPN-M withdraws its support to the government.

“There are three ways to unseat this government  Oli tenders resignation following UCPN-M’s withdrawal of support to the government; the PM tables a vote of confidence at the Parliament; NC tables a vote of no- confidence against

the government immediately after the UCPN-M withdraws its support to the government,” a source in NC, who is engaged in negotiations, told THT.

NC is awaiting UCPN-M’s decision before tabling no-confidence motion against the PM.

According to NC sources, in all probability, no-trust motion will be tabled before President Bidhya Devi Bhandari presents the policy and programme of the government on May 8 or before its endorsement scheduled for May 13, .

“As newly drafted Legislature Parliament Regulation is yet to be endorsed from the parliament, the processof tabling no-confidence motionwill be moved in accordance with the existing regulation,” a senior NC leader told THT.

“UDMF leaders have expressed readiness to support NC to topple the government and form a new one to address the concerns of Madhes-based people, including boundaries of federal units,” said NC leader Bimalendra Nidhi.

The Nepali Congress was represented by Deuba, Bimalendra Nidhi, Chinkaji Shrestha, Sitadevi Yadav, Mahesh Acharya and Ramesh Lekhak.

The UDMF was represented by Mahato, Mahantha Thakur, Upendra Yadav, Sharat Singh Bhandari and Rajkishor Yadav.


  • 8:00am    Office bearers’ meeting of UCPN-M at Dahal’s residence
  • 8:00am    UML holds standing committee meeting at the PM’s residence
  • 10:50am    Dahal meets PM at latter’s residence proposing UCPN-M-led govt
  • 11:30am    PM meets Prez Bhandari at Shital Niwas
  • 11:00am-5:00pm    MPs discuss government’s performance at House
  • 2:30- 4:30pm   NC holds formal meeting with UDMF leaders in parliament building
  • 5:15pm    UCPN-M’s standing committee meeting to endorse morning’s decision
  • 6:00pm    PM holds ruling parties’ meeting at his residence
  • 9:00pm    Dahal and UCPN-M leaders reach PM’s residence