Nepal | April 22, 2019

Prime Minister Dahal expands Cabinet, adds three ministers

THT Online
Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal assumes office

New Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal assumes office in Singha Darbar of Kathmandu, on Thursday, August 4, 2016. Photo: RSS

KATHMANDU: Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal on Monday evening expanded his Cabinet, inducting three ministers from two fringe parties in it.

Dahal appointed Deepak Bohora and Bikram Pandey of Rastriya Prajatantra Party, and Jayadev Joshi of CPN (United) as ministers. They, however, have not been given any portfolio.

Dahal had assumed his office as the Prime Minister on Thursday, August 4.

He had formed a six-member Cabinet then with Bimalendra Nidhi as Deputy Prime Minister with Home portfolio, Krishna Bahadur Mahara as Deputy Prime Minister with Ministry of Finance, Ramesh Lekhak as Minister for Physical Infrastructure and Transport, Gauri Shankar Chaudhary as Minister for Agriculture Development, and Daljit Shreepaili as Minister for Youth and Sports.

Nidhi and Lekhak are from Nepali Congress, while Mahara, Chaudhary and Shreepaili from Prime Minister Dahal’s party CPN Maoist Centre.

Rastriya Prajatantra Party was an ally in the CPN-UML-led coalition government also.

The party, however, had forsaken the KP Sharma Oli-led Cabinet at the last hour seeing the no-confidence motion moved against then Prime Minister Oli by the Nepali Congress-Maoist alliance looked certain to win. The fringe party had voted Dahal in the prime ministerial election in the Parliament.

After Oli’s resignation, Dahal was elected the country’s chief executive on August 3.


Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories: