Nepal | April 08, 2020

NMSP, NSP, MJF-R to be inducted into UDMF; Gupta-led TMNC left out

Ram Kumar Kamat

The decision of the United Democratic Madhesi Front to induct three constituents of the FIMA is in line with the front’s recent decision to induct like-minded parties in the front

United Democratic Madhesi Front top leaders

Top leaders of four constituent parties of the United Democratic Madhesi Front at a press conference in Janakpurdham, on Sunday, November 1, 2015. Photo: Brij Kumar Yadav

Kathmandu, February 11

The United Democratic Madhesi Front today decided to induct three fringe Madhesi parties  National Madhes Socialist Party, Nepal Sadbhawana Party and Madhesi Janaadhikar Forum-Republican into the front.

An informal meeting of the UDMF attended mainly by the second rung leaders of the front took a decision to this effect and the same is likely to be endorsed by a formal meeting of the front tomorrow.

The front, however, decided not to induct Jay Prakash Prasad Gupta-led Tarai Madhes National Campaign for it was functioning merely as a campaign and not a political party, said leaders who attended today’s meeting of the front.

Vice-chairperson of Tarai Madhes Democratic Party Brikhesh Chandra Lal said the expansion of the UDMF, which is also a constituent of the Federal Alliance, would help the front’s efforts to form a grand alliance of the agitating forces.

Federal Alliance also has Janajati and Tharu parties as its constituents.

Sharat Singh Bhandari-led NMSP, Anil Kumar Jha-led NSP, Rajkishor Yadav-led MJF-R and Jay Prakash Prasad Gupta-led TMNC are the constituents of the Federal Inclusive Madhesi Alliance.

Today’s decision of the UDMF to induct three constituents of the FIMA is in line with the front’s recent decision to induct like-minded parties in the front, said a leader who attended the front’s meeting.

When asked if the UDMF would also induct Matrika Prasad Yadav-led CPN Maoist into it, Lal said the UDMF was in favour of inducting those agitating forces who would express their commitment to the 11-point demands of the UDMF.

TMNC Coordinator Jay Prakash Gupta, however, said he was informed by NMSP negotiator Keshav Jha that the UDMF decided not to induct his outfit into it.

“I was surprised to know that my outfit was not inducted into UDMF, but I am personally happy that the UDMF has more constituents now and I had been campaigning for the expansion of the front,” Gupta said.

He said the UDMF should make the ongoing agitation a success so as to realise the dreams of those who sacrificed their lives during the protests. “UDMF should not be expanded just to ensure

that   there is no outfit left to agitate on the street against the provisions of the new constitution,” Gupta added.

Today’s meeting of the UDMF was attended by TMDP vice-chairpersons Hridayesh Tripathi and Brikhesh Chandra Lal, General Secretary Sarvendranath Shukla, Joint General Secretary Jitendra

Sonal, NSP Chair Anil Kumar Jha, MJF-R Chair Rajkishor Yadav, senior leader of Tarai Madhes Sadbhawana Party-Nepal Ram Naresh Ray and central committee member of NMSP Keshav Jha.

A version of this article appears in print on February 12, 2016 of The Himalayan Times.

Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories: