A no-confidence motion has been registered against Lumbini Province Chief Minister Shankar Pokhrel, on Monday.

A coalition of provincial lawmakers of Nepali Congress, Communist Party of Nepal-Maoist Centre and Janata Samajbadi Party-Nepal reached the Provincial Parliament secretariat to register the no-trust motion against CM Pokhrel with signatures of 41 lawmakers.

Maoist Centre lawmaker Kul Prasad KC has been named as the new Chief Minister in the motion.

The 87-member provincial assembly has 41 lawmakers from CPN (UML).