Nepal | July 21, 2019

Parties finalise candidates for PR lists

Himalayan News Service

Kathmandu, October 29

The parties made final changes to their lists of candidates for proportional representation poll on the last day to finalise PR lists today.

Among significant changes, the Nepali Congress removed Krishna Prasad Sitaula from the proportional representation list. Sitaula had expressed dissatisfaction with the party’s decision to include him in the PR list.

NC leader Bal Krishna Khand said the party President and Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba and senior leader of the party Ramchandra Paudel agreed to allow Sitaula to contest from his home constituency in Jhapa after he expressed his desire for the same.

Initially, the NC had listed Sitaula in the PR list with a view to supporting Rastriya Prajatantra Party candidate Rajendra Lingden in Jhapa’s Constituency No 3.

The NC is spearheading a campaign to forge a democratic alliance to counter the challenge posed by the left alliance. The RPP is also in the task force created to expedite formation of a democratic alliance.

Khand said the NC and the RPP would try to find another suitable constituency for Lingden.

Other key leaders of the NC in the PR list are Kul Bahadur Gurung, Sita Devi Yadav, Sujata Koirala, Chitra Lekha Yadav, Dilendra Prasad Badu, Kishor Rathaur, Man Bahadur BK, Dila Sangraula, Pushpa Bhusal,  Lal Kaji Gurung, Umesh Shrestha, Athahar Kamal Musalman, Binod Chaudhari and Asha BK.

According to a CPN-UML source, the party’s senior leaders Maya Gyawali, widow of Jeevraj Ashrit,  and Mukunda Neupane are in its
PR list.

UML Secretary Pradeep Gyawali said all top leaders of the party would contest the FPTP election.

According to a CPN-MC source, Onsari Gharti Magar, Rekha Sharma, Jayapuri Gharti, Mani Thapa, Hitraj Pandey, Gayatri Dura, Suresh Ale Magar, Sushila Simkhada, Narayan Dahal, Amrita Nepal  and Sita Pokharel have been included in the PR list.

The top three parties submitted the amended PR lists to the EC late this evening.

A version of this article appears in print on October 30, 2017 of The Himalayan Times.

Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories: