Preparations to mark Republic Day begin

Kathmandu, May 18

A main celebration committee to mark the Republic Day has been formed under the chairmanship of Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli.

The meeting held today at the Ministry of Home Affairs in Singh Durbar decided to mark the Republic Day on May 28 by organising various programmes for three days from May 28 to 30 in the country and diplomatic missions abroad.

The committee comprises Acting Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Deepak Raj Joshi, Speaker Krishna Bahadur Mahara, Chairman of the National Assembly Ganesh Timilsina, former president, former vice-president, ministers, and former prime ministers, among other VIPs.

The meeting has formed a publicity sub-committee under the convenorship of Minister of State for Communications and Information Technology Gokul Banskota.

The meeting appealed to the media to cover the Republic Day celebrations. The Nepali Army will organise the various programmes in temples and monasteries since early morning on the Republic Day.