Province 2 CM seeking vote of confidence in provincial parliament today

MAHENDRANAGAR, DHANUSHA: Chief Minister of Province 2 Lalbabu Raut is seeking a vote of confidence from the Provincial Parliament today.

Deputy Secretary of the Provincial Parliament Ranjit Kumar Yadav said that CM Raut will seek a vote of confidence while addressing the Provincial Assembly meeting to convene at 1:00 pm today.

As per the constitutional provision, the Chief Minister should take a vote of confidence from the provincial parliament within 30 days of being elected to the office.

Raut is the parliamentary leader of the Federal Socialist Forum Nepal (FSFN). He was elected the Chief Minister on February 14 with the support of Rastriya Janata Party (RJP).

Chief Minister Raut has also urged the Nepali Congress to support him in the vote of confidence. He, together with Jitendra Sonal, the RJP parliamentary party leader and Minister for Physical Infrastructure of the province, met the Nepali Congress provincial parliamentary party leader Ram Saroj Yadav on Wednesday seeking the support of Nepali Congress in the vote of confidence.

Raut needs to garner the support of 51 or more province assembly members to win the vote of confidence. There are 107 members in the Province Assembly of Province 2. FSFN has 29 members, RJP 25, CPN-UML 21, Nepali Congress 19, CPN Maoist Centre 11, Federal Socialist Party one, and one independent member.