Province 6 Cabinet gets full shape

  • CPN-MC has bagged three ministries, including CM, while UML has got four

Surkhet, February 18

Four days after Chief Minister Mahendra Bahadur Shahi was sworn in Province 6, the provincial cabinet got full shape today.

Shahi inducted six new ministers into the Cabinet today. In the presence of CM Shahi, Province 6 Governor Durgakeshar Khanal administered the oath of office and secrecy to the six newly-appointed ministers at his office today.

After the UML and CPN-Maoist Centre agreed on the distribution of portfolios, a seven-member Cabinet, including the CM was formed today. The Maoists have three ministers including the chief minister, while the UML has bagged four ministerial portfolios.

Naresh Bhandari and Bimala KC from the Maoist Centre have been given Ministry of Internal Affairs and Law; and Ministry of Land Management, Agriculture and Cooperatives respectively. Bhandari and KC were elected to the Provincial Assembly from Jumla and Rukum respectively.

Similarly, UML’s Prakash Jwala has bagged the Ministry of Financial Affairs and Planning. Lawmaker from Surkhet Khadga Khatri has got the Ministry of Physical Infrastructure. Dolpa’s lawmaker Nanda Singh Budha and Humla’s lawmaker Dal Rawal have been given the Ministry of Tourism, Forest and Environment; and Ministry of Social Development respectively.