The five-party ruling alliance today formed an 11-member coordination committee to oversee the execution of the common minimum programme of the coalition government.

According to CPN-Maoist Centre leader Narayan Kaji Shrestha, the coordination committee will be first led by senior Nepali Congress leader Ramchandra Paudel, followed by a new leader every two months from among the alliance partners.

Shrestha said two leaders from each of alliance partner would be on the panel, including CPN-MC Chair Pushpa Kamal Dahal, CPN (Unified Socialist) Chair Madhav Kumar Nepal, and Janata Samajbadi Party-Nepal Chair Upendra Yadav. Rastriya Janamorcha leaders Chitra Bahadur KC and Durga Paudel are also members of the committee. Krishna Sitaula is another member from the NC in the committee. CPN-MC, CPN-US, and JSP-N will nominate one more leader from their respective parties to the committee.

Minister of Communications and Information Technology Gyanendra Bahadur Karki is also a member of the committee. According to Shrestha, the coordination committee will oversee the implementation of the CMP and protection of the constitution, democracy, and nationality, according to Shrestha.

Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba is not a member of the committee, but he will attend all the committee meetings.

The ruling alliance has decided to have a poll alliance in the upcoming bypolls and National Assembly elections.

A version of this article appears in the print on November 09, 2021, of The Himalayan Times.