Top leaders in Special Committee to meet disgruntled MJF-D leadership

KATHMANDU: The Constitutional Political Dialogue and Consensus Committee's Special Committee on Saturday discussed how all political parties could be brought on board the constitution writing process and decided to hold discussion with the Madhesi Janaadhikar Forum-Democratic on Sunday.

The Special Committee's meeting was held at the Prime Minister's residence in Baluwatar on Saturday evening to discuss how the disgruntling parties could be brought in the process so as to move ahead with consensus, said Vice-Chairman of the UCPN-Maoist, Narayan Kaji Shrestha.

According to him, the Special Committee would hold a meeting with the Madhesi Janaadhikar Forum-Democratic Chairman Bijay Kumar Gachhadar at 8:30 am Sunday.

Leader Gachchhadar had disagreed with the Nepali Congress, CPN-UML and UCPN-Maoist on their deal of seven provinces.

Prime Minister and Nepali Congress President Sushil Koirala, Vice-President Ram Chandra Poudel, UML Chairman KP Sharma Oli and senior leader Madhav Kumar Nepal, UCPN-

Maoist Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal, Vice-Chairman Shrestha and senior leader Dr Baburam Bhattarai, who is also the chairman of CPDCC, took part in the meeting.'

The MJF-D yesterday announced that it was no more in the alliance of major parties that made breakthrough agreement to accomplish the task of constitution drafting by

resolving contentious issues.

After the Special Committee decided to opt for seven-Pradesh model, the Constitution Drafting Committee prepared a final draft of new constitution and submitted to the Constituent Assembly chairman, Subas Chandra Nembang yesterday.



Parties at sixes and sevens?

MJF-D severs ties with Big Three

8 Pradeshes bottom-line for MJF-D