As several attempts to forge consensus on the district committee chair turned futile, the seventh District Convention of CPN-UML Sunsari will hold election for the post.

Three candidates are vying for the chair, namely, Rewati Raman Bhandari, Khem Pokharel, and Dwariklal Chaudhary.

Bhandari, member of Constituent Assembly-II, is also the former chair of CPN-UML, Sunsari.

Pokharel is former mayor of Inaruwa, the district headquarters of Sunsari and incumbent chair. Likewise, Dwariklal Chaudhary is the incumbent mayor of Itahari and also the former chair of CPN-UML Sunsari.

The seventh convention was inaugurated on Friday.

It went for voting at 12:30 this afternoon. For the 135-member district committee, 16 positions, including Secretary Parshuram Yadav and 16 other members were elected unopposed.

Election is being held for the rest of the positions, said GB Gazal, the organising committee member of the convention.

''We have 11 booths to vote for the 2,150 representatives,'' said Gazal, ''One voter requires almost 10 minute to cast vote. The result will be out in the morning.'' Sunsari is the only district in eastern Terai, which includes Jhapa, Morang and Sunsari, to go for the poll in the ongoing nationwide CPN-UML district convention.

A version of this article appears in the print on January 13, 2022, of The Himalayan Times.