Chitwan Tigers registered their fourth consecutive victory, while Biratnagar Warriors signed off with a victory in the Bajaj Pulsar Everest Premier League here at the TU Stadium today.

The Tigers defeated defending champions Lalitpur Patriots by five wickets in a low-scoring encounter to stay at the top of the table with eight points. The Patriots are at the fourth position with three points and they are on the verge of elimination.

Tigers, Pokhara Rhinos and Bhairahawa Gladiators have sealed playoff berths, while the Kings - who have two points with two matches on hand - are likely to be the fourth team to earn the remaining spot. The Warriors crashed out with two points.

Batting first, the Patriots posted 108-9 in their allotted 20 overs before the Tigers raced to 112-5 with 16 balls remaining. Jaykishan Kolsawala top scored for the Patriots with 33-ball 42 that included two fours and three sixes, while Sandun Weerakkody was the next best with 14. Surya Tamang remained unbeaten on 11.

Player-of-the-match Kamal Airee was the pick of the Tigers bowlers taking 3-11 from four overs, while Karim Janat and Sagar Dhakal claimed two wickets each and Shahab Alam grabbed one.

In reply, Tigers opener Mohammad Shahzad top scored with 35 off 28 balls hitting four boundaries and two sixes, while Bhim Sharki struck three fours and a six in his 22-ball 27.

Dilip Nath scored an unbeaten runa-ball 16 with the help of one each four and six, while Virandeep Singh contributed 13. Azmatullah Omarzai and Rijan Dhakal took two wickets each for the Patriots and Yogendra Singh Karki bagged one.

In another match which was reduced to eight-over-a-side due to wet outfield caused by the overnight rain, the Warriors beat the Kings by seven runs in their last match. The Warriors, who faced defeats in the first four matches, posted 104-5 in eight overs and restricted the Kings to 97-3.

Player-of-the-match Anil Sah top scored for the Warriors with an unbeaten 45 off just 16 balls that included two fours and five sixes, while Rayyan Pathan clobbered two fours and three sixes in his 11-ball 30. Skipper Karan KC hit one each four and six in his 11-ball 15. Gulsan Jha, Ryan Burl and skipper Sandeep Lamichhane grabbed one wicket each for the Kings.

In reply, opener Rahamanullah Gurbaz was the highest scorer for the Kings scoring 28 off 15 balls with the help of three fours and six, while Subash Khakurel struck three sixes in his 10-ball 26. Raju Rijal scored 24 off 15 balls hitting two fours and a six, whereas Ryan Burl hit two sixes in his seven-ball 15. Rayyan Pathan picked 2-30 for the Warriors, while Pratis GC bagged one wicket.

A version of this article appears in the print on October 4, 2021, of The Himalayan Times.