Top political leaders leaving Province 2

Bara, September 16

With the electoral silence period coming to effect from last midnight ahead of Monday’s local level polls in Province 2, political leaders have started leaving Province 2 as per Election Commission’s directive.

Earlier, the Election Commission, through the district administration offices in the province, had urged political leaders and government ministers, except those casting their votes in the local level elections, to leave the province.

Nepali Congress President and Prime Minister Sher  Bahadur Deuba returned to the capital yesterday after attending election meets in Kalaiya and Parsa.

CPN-Maoist Centre Chairperson Puspa Kamal Dahal left for Rolpa from Simara in a helicopter at 1:15am today. Likewise, CPN-UML Chairperson KP Sharma Oli, who had reached Simara yesterday, flew back to the capital today afternoon.

Similarly, other UML leaders Jhalanath Khanal and Bamdev Gautam returned to the Capital yesterday evening, while UML General Secretary Ishwor Pokharel, party leader Gokarnaraj Bista left the province today. UML leader and former prime minister Madhav Kumar Nepal, who hails from Gaur Municipality in Rautahat, however, has stayed back to cast his vote.

Nepali Congress senior party leader Ramchandra Poudel and other party leaders, including Gangan Thapa, Ramhari Khatiwada and Chandra Bhandari, left the province today.

Likewise, Naya Shakti Nepal Coordinator Dr Baburam Bhattarai returned from the province yesterday.

Madhes-based leaders, however, have stayed back.

Simara remained crowded all day yesterday and today as large numbers of supporters of various political parties reached the airport to see off their leaders. Staff and security personnel at the airport had a tough time managing the crowds. Some flights from the airport were delayed citing technical glitches.

According to a Buddha Air staffer at the airport, two dozen leaders from various political parties had booked their tickets to Kathmandu for yesterday and today.