Tough fight expected among top leaders of major parties in upcoming elections

Kathmandu, October 22

The first phase of parliamentary elections slated for November 26 will see tough contests as some key leaders are facing key leaders of opponent parties.

Naya Shakti Party-Nepal Coordinator Baburam Bhattarai today filed his nomination from his home constituency of Gorkha-2 from where CPN-MC leader Narayan Kaji Shrestha is also contesting. These two leaders were once the vice-chairpersons of the CPN-Maoist Centre in the past.

Bhattarai is being supported by the Nepali Congress in his home constituency   in lieu of his party’s support to NC candidate in Gorkha- 1 where former Chief Whip of NC Chin Kaji Shrestha is contesting the elections.

Bhattarai, who had joined the left alliance quit the alliance and sought support from the NC following which the NC decided to support him in his home constituency of Gorkha-2.

Sindhupalchok-1 constituency will also witness an interesting fight between CPN-MC leader Agni Prasad Sapkota and NC leader Mohan Bahadur Basnet.

Rastriya Prajatantra Party Democratic Chair Pashupati Shamsher JB Rana is contesting from Sindhupalchowk-2 who will be supported by the Nepali Congress.

NC leaders Ram Sharan Mahat and Arjun Narasingh KC filed their nominations from Nuwakot constituency no 1 and 2 respectively. Mahat will face CPN-MC leader Hit Bahadur Tamang in his constituency.

KC’s main rival is UML’s Narayan Prasad Khatiwada.

Lamjung which has only one constituency will also witness interesting contest as NC leader Dil Bahadur Gharti will mainly face CPN-MC candidate Dev Gurung.

NC leader Ram Hari Khatiwada is contesting from Okhaldhunga which has only one constituency. UML leader Yagya Raj Sunuwar is also contesting from this constituency.

NC leader Bal Bahadur KC is contesting from his home district of Solukhumbu which has only one constituency.  UML Secretary Yogesh Bhattarai filed his candidacy from his home constituency of Taplejung respectively for House of Representatives. Candidates from various parties filed their candidacy today in 32 districts where first phase of provincial and parliamentary polls will be held on November 26.