CPN-UML party office.

CPN-UML party central office.
KATHMANDU: The Election Commission has said that CPN-UML's candidates are in the forefront of clinching the mayoral posts in Kathmandu and Bharatpur Metropolises. In Kathmandu, UML's Bidya Sundar Shakya has garnered 57, 473 votes while his closest competitor Nepali Congress' Raju Raj Joshi has collected 40, 010 votes, as of now. Similarly, Nepali Congress' deputy mayor candidate for KMC, Hari Prabha Khadki has received 52,158 votes while her nearest rival Rastriya Prajatantra Party's Raja Ram Shrestha has collected 31, 077 votes. Meanwhile, vote counting of 27 wards in KMC has been over and counting of vote in 5 wards has commenced. So far 1,73, 082 votes have been counted in KMC, according to Election Commission. In Bharatpur Metropolitan City, CPN-UML's candidate Devi Prasad Gyawali has collected 34, 768 votes while his closest competitor CPN Maoist Centre's Renu Dahal has received 33, 141 votes. Gyawali currently leads by 1,627 votes margin. Similarly, Nepali Congress' candidate Parbati Shah Thakuri leads the deputy mayor post in the Metropolis. She has garnered 36, 799 votes to UML's candidate Dibya Acharya's 31, 504 votes. The vote counting in 7 wards including 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22 and 23 in Bharatpur Metropolis is yet to begin. "Kathmandu and Bharatpur Metropolises would get mayor and deputy mayor by Monday", said EC. Earlier, on May 14 local level elections were commenced in 34 districts in Province number 3, 4 and 6 for selecting local representatives in 283 local units. Election Commission has said that preparations are underway to hold local elections in 41 districts in Province number 1, 2, 5 and 7. Meanwhile, CPN-UML's candidates have been elected as mayor or chiefs in 123 local bodies while Nepali Congress' candidates have been elected as mayor or chiefs in 104 local units. Likewise, CPN Maoist Centre has won in 46 local units. READ ALSO: