Unified CPN-M’s decision-making bodies revamped

Kathmandu, January 16:

The second central committee meeting of the Unified CPN-Maoist today constituted a 45-member politburo and 15-member central secretariat to effectively work out the party’s day-to-day affairs.

The party restructured its organisation at the central-level after the then Unity-Centre Masal and CPN-Maoist formally unified on Monday. The new politburo consists of all the 35 central committee members of the then CPN-Maoist and 10 politburo members of the Unity-Centre Masal.

Likewise, the central secretariat of the unified party consists of all 11 central secretariat members of the then Maoist and four other leaders from the then Unity-Centre Masal. The central secretariat would handle the day-to-day issues while the politburo would act as a stopgap when the full central committee meeting could not take place.

Party leader Krishna Bahadur Mahara said that party chairman Prachanda, Mohan Baidya, Dr Baburam Bhattarai, Ram Bahadur Thapa, CP Gajurel, Dev Gurung, Post Bahadur Bogati, Netra Bikram Chand, Barashaman Pun, Top Bahadur Rayamajhi and Mahara himself from the then CPN-Maoist and Narayan Kaji Shrestha, Amik Serchan, Giriraj Mani Pokharel and Lilamani Pokharel from the then Unity-Centre Masal had been included in the powerful central secretariat.

The central committee meeting, which is scheduled for tomorrow, will discuss the delegation of responsibilities to central leaders, make an adjustment of all the political fronts, sister organisations and central departments of both the parties among others.

Devendra Poudel, a central member, said they would also discuss the ways of managing the central committee and its financial aspects and develop a code of conduct for the central leaders.

“We will also discuss the party’s role in the parliament, government and in the streets, focusing chiefly on the constitution drafting process,” Poudel said.