15 climbers qualify for semi-finals

KATHMANDU: Sanjaya Kumar Lama of Astrek Climbing Wall led the field of 15 players who made it to the semi-finals of the fourth National Open Climbing Competition here today. Lama topped the list with the score of 33+, while Pradip Shakya (33) of Himalayan Sherpa Adventure was second in the table. Tshering Dorje Sherpa (33-) of High Altitude Dream came third.

Others in the top 15 were Mingma Sherpa (Chomolungma Summiteers Association), Nima Tenji Sherpa (Everest Summiteers Club, Rolwaling), Gokul Rai (Astrek Climbing Wall), Hari Ram Khadka (Glacier Safari Treks), Dawa Finjo Lama Bhote (Himalayan Guides Nepal), Yogesh Khadka

(Himalayan Techno Gear Pvt Ltd), Pasang Ongchhu

Sherpa (Cho-Oyu Trekking), Rajendra Prasad Pandey (World records Expedition and Treks), Tenzeeng Sherpa (Namaste Treks and Expedition, Phura Gyaljen Sherpa (Summit Nepal Treks), Pasang Gyaljen Sherpa (Himalayan Mountain Guide), and Densa Bhote (Arun Treks and Expedition).

A total of 50 players took part in the qualifying round. The 15 players will fight for the 10 berths for the final round slated for Saturday. The women’s section qualifying for seven semi-finalists and the final rounds are also scheduled for Saturday.

Earlier, General Secretary of the CPN-UML Ishwor Khanal inaugurated the two-day tournament organised by Pasang Lhamu Mountaineering Foundation and supported by Treking Agencies Association of Nepal, Nepal Mountaineering Association and Nepal Tourism Board. Former Tourism Minister Bal Bahadur KC, President of

the Foundation Kripasur

Sherpa and senior mountaineer Aangrita Sherpa were also present on the occasion.