Tribhuvan Army Club and New Diamond Sports Club won the titles of the Wai Wai Dynamite sixth NVA National Club Volleyball Championship here at the NSC covered hall today.

TAC defeated defending champions Help Nepal Sports Club 3-1 in the men's section final.

TAC took the lead with a 26- 24 victory in the first set before Help Nepal hit back taking the second set 25-17.

TAC regrouped and won the next two sets to seal the victory.

The Armymen took the third set 25-18 to restore the lead.

Help Nepal put up a tough fight in the fourth set and they levelled the scores at 22-22 despite trailing 17-22 at one stage.

Both the teams went neck to neck until the departmental side took it 33-31. Nepal Police Club finished third after beating Nepal APF Club in straight sets.

In women's section, New Diamond came from a set down to defeat Nepal APF Club 3-1 to claim their second title of the championship. APF took the lead with a 26-24 win before New Diamond bounced back to win the next three sets.

New Diamond, who trailed 8-15 at one stage in the second set, took it 25-21 to level the scores. New Diamond then went ahead with a 25-17 win in the third set and they completed the victory with a 25-15 victory in the fourth set. Earlier, Tribhuvan Army Club beat Nepal Police Club to finish third.

Top three teams in both sections received Rs 400,000, Rs 200,000 and Rs 100,000 respectively.

Man Bahadur Shrestha of TAC and Pratibha Mali of New Diamond were declared the best players of the championship and they earned Rs 25,000 each.

Likewise, Binit Kumar of Help Nepal and Shanti Tharu of TAC were named the best spikers, while Hari Adhikari of TAC and Saraswoti Chaudhary of APF won the best blocker awards. Em Bahadur Rana of TAC and Aruna Shahi of New Diamond were named the best setters, whereas TAC duo Durga Bahadur Khadka and Sangam Mahato bagged the best server awards.

Also, Binod Chand of APF and Salina Shrestha of New Diamond were declared the best liberos. Jagat Singh of TAC and Kumar Rai of New Diamond were named the best coaches.

All the best individuals received Rs 15,000 each. A total of 20 teams - 14 in men's section and six in women's category - took part in the championship.

A version of this article appears in the print on October 3, 2021, of The Himalayan Times.