Tribhuvan Army Club shuttlers Ratnajit Tamang and Rashila Maharjan won the singles titles of the first Revive Leisure Park Open National Badminton Championship here today.

Top-ranked Tamang came from a set down to beat Revive Leisure Park's Prince Dahal to claim the men's singles trophy. Dahal, who is third in the world junior rankings, took the first set 22-20 before Tamang bounced back to win the second set 21-19. Tamang then sealed the victory with a 21013 win in the third and final set.

Praful Maharjan and Sajan Krishna Tamrakar finished joint third.

The women's singles final was decided in three sets with Maharjan winning first and third against fellow TAC shuttler Anu Maya Rai.

Maharjan took the lead with an easy 21-8 victory before Rai levelled the scores by winning the second set 21-17. The third and final set was much competitive before Maharjan took it 22-20. Jessica Gurung and Amita Giri finished joint third.

In men's doubles category, Bishal Basnet and Pranis Singh Thakuri won the title with a 21- 16, 17-21, 21-18 victory over Ram Baniya and Sujan Thapa of Saino Sports Club. Priyanshu Singh Chhetry/Pemba Sherpa and Bidhan Adhikari/Bishal Khadka came joint third. Top three finishers in all three categories received Rs 50,000, Rs 25,000 and Rs 10,000 respectively.

Likewise, Anil Lakhe of Nepalgunj and Subash Shrestha of Chitwan won the veteran doubles title.

They defeated Revive Leisure Park's Ram Sharan KC and Hari Khatri 19-21, 21-14, 21-19. Ram KC/Milan Thapa and Kishor Byanjankar/Sudin Shakya finished joint third. Top three shuttlers received Rs 25,000, Rs 15,000 and Rs 5,000 respectively.

Former Chief Minister of Gandaki Province Prithvi Subba Gurung, President of Nepal Badminton Association Ramji Bahadur Shrestha and Revive Leisure Park owner and organising committee president Sukra Pakhrin among others handed over the prizes to the winners.

A version of this article appears in the print on September 22 2021, of The Himalayan Times.