BCC, Baneshwor, Yangal in semis

Himalayan News Service

Kathmandu, May 9:

Baluwatar Cricket Club, Baluwatar Training Centre, Baneshwor Height Cricket Club and Yangal Cricket Club entered the semi-finals of the Under-15 Kathmandu District Cricket Tournament here today. In the day’s first match, Baluwatar Cricket Club defeated Nightingale School by 58 runs. Batting first, BCC scored 179 runs losing six wickets in 30 overs, in which Nishesh KC scored 74 and Sunil Tuladhar scored 38. For Nightingale, Sunam Raut took four wickets. In reply, Nightingale were packed off for 121 runs in 29.4 overs. Anil Yadubansi scored 48 runs. For BCC, Ram Shrestha took four wickets.

In second match, Baluwatar Training Centre (BTC) outplayed United Chabahil Cricket Club by six wickets. Batting first, United were bowled out for just 99 runs in 26.5 overs. Suraj Rajwat scored 30 and Sunam Gautam remained unbeaten on 18 as BTC overcame the target in 15.4 overs losing four wickets. In the third match, Baneshwor Height beat Greenland Academy by 60 runs. Electing to bat, Baneshwor scored 174/5 off 30 overs, in which Ashish KC scored 64 runs. In reply, Greenland Academy were packed off for 114 runs in 27 overs. Surendra Rana took four wickets for Baneshwor.

In the last match, Yangal Cricket Club thrashed Brihaspati Bidya Sadan by 196 runs. Batting first, Yangal scored 250 runs losing six wickets in allotted 30 overs, with Laxma Pradhan scoring 95 runs. Aftab Hussein scored 56. Lakpa Sherpa took four wickets for Brihaspati. In reply, Brihaspati were packed off for just 54 runs in 15 overs. Gyanendra took five wickets for Yangal.