CAN announces squad for Division-V

Kathmandu, April 27:

Cricket Association of Nepal (CAN) announced the final 14-member squad for the upcoming ICC World Cricket League Division-V here today.

Allrounder Binod Das was named the captain and Paras Khadka his deputy for the May 21-31 tournament slated in Jersey. Others in the squad are Paresh Lohani, Shakti Gauchan, Mahboob Alam, Sanjam Regmi, Sharad Vesawkar, Dipendra Chaudhary, Gyanendra Malla, Mahesh Chhetry, Raj Kumar Pradhan, Amrit Bhattarai, Basanta Regmi and Dhirendra Chand.

Out from the 18-member preliminary squad, that were undergoing closed-camp training, were Manjit Shrestha, Pramod Basnet, Antim Thapa and Yaswant Subedi. All the four players were kept in the reserve list.

Meanwhile, CAN said that it has managed four one-day matches against Pakistani and Bangladeshi team as part of their preparation for the Division-V. Nepali team will play one-day match against Dhaka Club on May 2 before playing three one-dayers with Academy Team of Pakistan Cricket Board in Kathmandu on May 8, 9 and 11.

Nepali team is also scheduled to play three warmup matches against Sussex Academy in London (May 16) before playing Bahamas (May 19) and Guernsey in Guernsey Island (May 21) prior to the tournament in Jersey.

Nepal are pitted against Mozambique, the United States, Germany, Norway and Vanuata in Group A while Group B comprises of Afghanistan, Japan, hosts Jersey, Singapore, Bahamas and Botswana. Top two teams of the tournament will qualify for the WCL Division-IV.

The Nepal team will open their campaign against Mozambique in Grainville on Man 24 before taking on Norway at the Farmers Field on May 26. The Nepali side will play their third league match against Vanuata at the Victoria College the following day before facing the United States at Les Quennevais in their last league match on May 28.