Chula Chuli, Durga win football titles

Lalitpur, September 20

Chula Chuli English Boarding School of Jhapa and Shree Durga Secondary School of Rautahat bagged the titles of the Coca-Cola Inter-school National Football Tournament here at the ANFA Complex today.

Chula Chuli saw off Shree Halchowk HS School of Kathmandu 1-0 in boys’ final, while Shree Durga claimed girls’ section title after another finalists Bal Kalyan School of Morang were disqualified.

In boys’ final, Amar Rai scored the match-winning goal for Chula Chuli in the 35th minute. Bhanubhakta Memorial English Secondary School of Morang defeated Scholar’s Home English Secondary School of Rupandehi 4-2 in tie-breaker to finish third on Monday.

In girls’ section, Bal Kalyan and Nepal Rashtriya HS School of Kathmandu had filed protests against each other after their semi-final match on Monday. The organisers, however, disqualified both the teams after they found enough evidence of violation of regulations. The organisers said both the teams had included fake students in their teams. Bal Kalyan had defeated Nepal Rashtriya 3-0 to enter the final.

The disqualified teams disrupted the presentation ceremony and one of the officials from Bal Kalyan snatched the trophy from the organisers and ran outside the stadium. The organisers had to call security to take the situation under control. The presentation ceremony was held after a delay of half an hour.

The disqualification meant Shree Durga won the title without kicking the ball, while Ideal HS School of Kathmandu, who had lost to Shree Durga in the semi-final match, were declared the runners-up. The boys’ category winners Chula Chuli earned Rs 300,000, while runners-up Halchowk received Rs 150,000. Third-placed Bhanubhakta and fourth-placed Scholar’s Home got Rs 75,000 and Rs 50,000 respectively. In girls’ section, Durga and Ideal bagged Rs 200,000 and Rs 100,000 respectively.

Halchowk forward Som Putuwar, midfielder Dipen Chhetri of Chula Chuli, Scholar’ Home defender Shankar Rai and Bhanubhakta goalkeeper Yogesh Bhattarai won the individual awards along with Chula Chuli coach Binod Bhandari. In girls’ category, Rashmi Kumari Ghising, Anjana Rana Magar and Chitra Kumar Darlami, all from Durga School, were named the best forward, goalkeeper and coach respectively, while Anita Shrestha of Ideal was adjudged the best defender and Rabina Maharjan of Nepal Rashtriya won the best midfielder’s award.