Dhami wins title

KATHMANDU: Dipesh Dhami won the title of the fourth Annapurna Corporate Badminton Tournament here on Saturday. In the men’s singles final played at the National Sports Council covered hall, Dhami came from behind to beat fellow Tribhuvan Army Club teammate and defending champion Ratnajit Tamang 2-1. Dhami lost the first set 4-21 and bounced back to win the second and third sets by 21-14, 21-19. In open women’s singles, TAC’s Nangsal Devi Tamang beat APF’s Sikchya Shrestha 21-15, 21-10. Bijit Thapa and Bikash Shrestha defeated Sudip Sedai and Sajan Krishna Tamrakar 21-18, 21-17 in all-APF men’s doubles final. Bishal Khadka beat Abhishek Bose 21-11, 21-19 in executive singles final, while Khadka teamed up with Sambhu Kumar Shrestha to beat Umesh KC and Bibek GC 21-11, 21-13 in doubles. In Corporate doubles, Birendra Basnet and Shyam Bahadur Parajuli thumped Mahesh Swar and Niraj Shakya 21-18, 21-13. Around 350 players participated in six categories.