Parki, Budha win gold medals

ITAHARI: Nepal APF Club’s Gopi Chand Parki and Tribhuvan Army Club’s Bishworupa Budha won gold medals in the 10,000m event of the 42nd National Athletics Tournament under the NSC Championship here on Sunday.

In men’s section, Parki clocked 32 minutes and 20.8 seconds to win the race leaving behind TAC’s Gajendra Rai and Tika Raj Katuwal. In women’s section, Budha took 37 minutes and 29.59 seconds to finish first. TAC’s Reshu Basnet came second and APF’s Bindradhanke Shrestha was third.

In women’s 100m hurdles, Pramila Tharu of Mid-west clocked 17.65 seconds and won gold medal, while TAC’s Tulasha Shrestha and Tulasha Khatri claimed silver and bronze medals respectively. APF’s Tila Chaudhary jumped 144m to win the women’s high jump gold and TAC’s Surya Bahadur Khatri bagged men’s section gold with a jump of 188m.