The government announced the cash rewards for the national football team that won the Three Nations Cup here at the Dasharath Stadium on Monday.

The Cabinet meeting on Friday decided to felicitate each member of the team with Rs 400,000.

The All Nepal Football Association has already announced the reward of Rs 100,000 apiece to the team members apart from the prize money of $5,000.

Nepal defeated Bangladesh 2-1 in the final to bag the first title on home soil in 37 years. Sanjog Rai and Bishal Rai scored for the home team.

Nepal had not won title at home since the national team lifted the gold medal in the first SAF Games in 1984.

Kyrgyzstan Olympic Team was the third side in the invitational tournament organised by the ANFA from March 22-29.

Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli had watched the final match and also distributed the trophies.

A version of this article appears in the print on April 3, 2021, of The Himalayan Times.