Rawat, Bista win title

LALITPUR: Ira Rawat and Abhilasha Bista won the women’s doubles title of the first National Open Lawn Tennis Championship here at the Tennis Complex courts on Sunday. The duo defeated the pair of Bijisha Shrestha and Bibhuti Karki 6-4, 6-3 in the final. Rawat also advanced to the women’s singles final along with Mayanka Rana, Rawat defeated her doubles partner Bista 6-1, 6-2, while Rana beat Ganga Sharma 6-3, 6-3. In men’s section, Samrakshyak Bhushan Bajracharya, Renjan Lama, Santosh Khatri, Nabin Magar, Kamal Bhandari, Anil Shah, Shree Ram Magar and Pranav Khanal made it to the quarter-finals. In men’s doubles, the pairs of Kamal Bhandari/Shree Ram Magar, Atma Ram Karki/Santosh Khatri, Mahesh Shrestha/Samrakshyak Bhushan Bajracharya, and Anil Shai/Shakti Sharma advanced to the semi-finals. The tournament is being organised by Lalitpur District Lawn Tennis Association.