Kathmandu, Chandrapur record victories

Kathmandu, June 14

Kathmandu Metropolitan City and Chandrapur Municipality registered victories in the Deputy Mayor Inter-Municipality Cup Women’s Football League here at the Nepal APF Club grounds today.

Kathmandu thrashed Bhimeswor Dolakha Municipality 13-0. Preeti Rai alone netted seven goals, while Sunakala Rai completed her hat-trick. Manisha Thapa Magar, Sushmita Tamang and Suvadra Khadka netted one goal each for Kathmandu.

In another match, Chandrapur defeated Godavari Municipality 4-0. Sabita Rana Magar, Rajani Thokar, Rashmi Kumari Ghishing and Nisha Thokar scored one goal each for Chandrapur.

Earlier, Bansgadi Municipality and Ghorahi Tulsipur Municipality played a 2-2 draw. Puja Rana Magar scored a brace for Bansgadi, while Deepa Pun Magar and Mamta Pun Magar netted one goal each for Ghorahi.

A total of 18 teams are taking part in the tournament which is played under league-cum-knockout format. The teams are divided into four pools and winners from all the groups will make it to the semi-finals. The final is slated for June 27.

The champions will receive Rs 500,000, while the runners-up will get Rs 300,000. Likewise, the best player of the tournament will earn Rs 25,000, whereas individual award winners — goalkeeper, defender, midfielder, striker and coach — will get Rs 10,000 each. Earlier, All Nepal Football Association President Karma Tsering Sherpa and Chairperson of Armed Police Family Women’s Association President Sarita Kanel Khanal among others inaugurated the tournament.