The Kathmandu Badminton Academy today unveiled the eight participating teams of the Kumari Bank Kathmandu Team Championship and allotted top-ranked players to the corporate houses.

The KBA had announced 16 topranked players - eight men and women based on national team ranking - and they were allotted to eight teams through a draw today.

According to the organisers, Kumari Bank, Nepal Rastra Bank, Nepal Telecom, Kantipur Publications, Nepal Oil Corporation, IME Group, Silk Group and Nepal Electricity Authority are the participating teams in the December 21-24 tournament.

Nepal Telecom got No 1 Ratnajit Tamang and No 9 Sima Rajbanshi in the draw, while second-ranked Dipesh Dhami and Amita Giri were allotted to Nepal Rastra Bank. No 8 Nabin Shrestha and top-ranked Nangsal Devi Tamang will join IME Group, while Silk Group got thirdranked shuttlers Bikash Shrestha and Anu Maya Rai.

Likewise, NOC got No 4 players Bishnu Katuwal and Rashila Maharjan, while seventh-ranked player Deepak Bohara and No 6 Shova Gauchan were drawn for NEA.

Fourth-ranked Sajan Krishna Tamrakar and No 10 Samjhana Sharma were allocated for Kantipur, whereas main sponsors, Kumari Bank got No 6 Sudip Sedhai and No 7 Sunaina Mukhiya. Fifth-ranked Jessica Gurung and No 8 Sita Maya Rai pulled out due to injuries and KBA included No 9 Rajbanshi and No 10 Samjhana Sharma in the list.

These players will get Rs 20,000 as soon as they get registered, while the organisers will provide them with Rs 2,500 as match fee in each game.

The championship features five events - men's singles, women's singles, corporate doubles, men's doubles and women's doubles - and teams with three victories will win the match. Each team consists of six to eight players and the corporate houses will pick other members from their respective organisations.

The top-ranked players in the top four teams will get Rs 75,000, Rs 60,000, Rs 55,000 and Rs 47,500 respectively, while the winning team will receive a running trophy. Other players in the winning sides will get medals and gift hampers.

A version of this article appears in the print on December 10, 2021, of The Himalayan Times.