Local briefs

ANFA nominated

KATHMANDU: All Nepal Football Association (ANFA) has been nominated in the AFC Association of the Year category at the AFC Awards Gala 2005. The other two nominees in the section include Japan FA and Qatar FA. The winner will be announced at the AFC Awards Gala 2005 in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia on November 30. Other awards include Diamond of the year with only one nominee, Kawab-uchi Saburo of Japan, Fair Play, Match Official of the Year, Youth PoY, Futsal Team of the Year, Club Team of the Year, Women’s National Team of the Year, Men’s National Team of the Year, Women’s PoY and Men’s PoY. — HNS

Third TIA Cup

KATHMANDU: Pravin Gurung scored 11 points as BGA defeated Oasis School 25-22 in the third Sakalaka Boom TIA Cup Basketball Tournament, which has been organised by Trungram

International Academy. In other boys’ section matches, Siddhartha beat LRI 29-24 riding on Rudra Thapali’s 14 points; Asmin Shahi netted 18 as TIA beat Deep Jyoti 55-15; and Prem Bogati scored 20 in New Shrine’s 44-25 win over Prithiwi. In girls’ section, Mina Gautam netted eight points as Shrine Academy beat Greenland 21-2; and Lakpa Lama scored nine points in Prithiwi School’s 18-6 victory over Suryodaya. — HNS

First MUC Cup

KATHMANDU: Kathmandu Don Bosco College defeated FW Taylor 51-36 in the first Minbhuvan Men’s Open Club-level Basketball Tournament, which has been organised by Minbhuvan United Society. In other match, NIC beat Campion 45-32. — HNS

Nepal vs Kyrgyzstan

KATHMANDU: Nepal under-19 team will take on Kyrgyzstan in the Group F first leg match of the AFC (Youth) U-19 Championship qualifying tournament here at Dasharath Stadium on Tuesday. The tournament was originally scheduled for Kyrgyzstan, but after Bhutan withdrew from the competition, the remaining two countries were forced to play in the home and away system. Nepal will play the away match in Kyrgyzstan on November 28. NEPAL SQUAD: Nirajan Khadka, Durga Lawat, Noor Raj Kafle, Krishna Lama, Shishir Adhikari, Jeevan Sinkeman, Santosh Gurung, Anil Gurung, Mansajan Rajbhandari, Sanjeev Shrestha, Rojit KC, Sandeep Rai, Santosh Shahukhala, Sangeet Rajak, Rishi Kesh Rai, Suman Subedi, Pankaj Lama, Arjun Rijal, Gopal Thapa, Sudip Limbu. — HNS

Mani to come to Ktm

KATHMANDU: Ehasn Mani, president of International Cricket Council, is arriving Kathmandu on Tuesday to take part in the ICC Development Committee meeting to be held in Kathmandu on November 24. “ICC president Ehasn Mani, along with his wife, is coming to Kathmandu for the first time, which is not only important for the Nepali cricket, but also a matter of pride for the cricket fans of Nepal and the association,” said CAN secretary Laxman Bastola. — HNS

Team leaves for Rome

KATHMANDU: An eight-member team today left for Italy to take part in the Taekwondo Referee Seminar to be held in Rome from November 22-24. The team include chief coach Deepraj Gurung, Nandu Rai, Min Thapa, Kumar Karki, Madhuban Lal Singh, Ishwor Man Bajracharya, Nabin Shrestha and Shyam Dangol. — HNS