Local Briefs

Wang triumphs

KATHMANDU: Wang Yi won the Surya Nepal Golf Gokarna Monthly medal with the score of net 69 points here at the Gokarna Golf Club on Saturday. Wang was declared winner on the count back as he was tied with Greesh Bindra. Wanchen Dhondup scored 73 nett points to clinch the third place. In all, 27 golfers participated in the monthly event. President of the Nepal Professional Golfers’ Association Rabindra Man Shrestha gave away the prizes to the winner. The event fourth under the Monthly Medal and four more will be held until December 2009 which will decide the Gokarna Club champion. Wangchen Dhondup is leading the tournament so far. — HNS

Archers selected

KATHMANDU: Nepal Archery Association (NAA) has selected three players to participate in the fourth Asian Grand Prix Archery Tournament slated for September 19 to 24 in Kolkata. Prem Prasad Pun, Asim Sherchan and Jeet Ghale were selected for the event. Ramesh Bhattachan was named as a reserve player. The archers were selected after a qualification tournament that concluded on Saturday. According to NAA President Laxman Kumar Shrestha, Prem is rated 294 and Asim rates 345 in the world ranking. Nepali archers will compete in the 70 metre category. — HNS

Shito-Ryu Karate

KATHMANDU: The second valleywide Shito-ryu Karate Tournament is scheduled for September 19-20, organisers Manakamana branch of Nepal Shito-ryu Karate Association informed here on Sunday. In all 350 karatekas are on the fray for 22 gold medals — -12 in men and 10 women’s section. The tournament will be held at Amrit Boarding School in Mhepi. The estimated budget of the tournament is Rs 450, 000. The event is organised to mark the 10th anniversary of Manakamana dojo. — HNS

Palpa win

PALPA: Palpa defeated visiting Indian team by six wickets to claim the Indo-Nepal Friendly Cricket Tournament here on Sunday. Batting first, the tourists were dismissed for 73 in 12 overs. Man of the match Man Bahadur Thapa completed a five-wicket haul for the hosts. In reply, Palpa surpassed the total losing four wickets in 11 overs. Amit Gyawali and Dil Bahadur Thapa scored 18 runs each. — HNS