Murray wins Monthly Medal title

Kathmandu, December 19

Andrew Murray won the 10th edition title of the Surya Nepal Gokarna Monthly Medal Golf Tournament here at the Gokarna Golf Club today.

Played under stroke play full handicap format, the 10-handicap amateur Murray scored five-under 67 nett to claim the trophy. Maj Bejoy Moktan was second at four-under 68, while Gaurav Shah was third at two-under 70.

Gopal Chitrakar won the gross section title with the score of nine-over 80, while Aditi Ghimire claimed the junior category title with the score of five-under 67 nett. In all, 40 golfers took part in the final edition of the tournament. General Secretary of Nepal Golf Association Tashi Ghale handed over the prizes to the winners.

After 10 editions, Kishan Agrawal is at the top of the nett section standings with 214 points, while Andrew Murray moved to second with 176. SSP Rajendra Shrestha (162), Bijay Bahadur Shrestha (150) and Jabbor Kayumov (146) are in top five. Likewise, SSP Rajendra Shrestha leads gross section table with 360 points, while young golfer Prithivi Malla is second at 330. Gopal Chitrakar is third at 304, ahead of Andrew Murray (240) and Tendi Sherpa (230).

In junior section, Mayank Dahal is atop leaderboard with 480 points, whereas Sam Doublard and Aditi Ghimire are joint second at 340. Shreeyog Basnyat (240) is fourth, while Tenzing Sherpa and Tenzing Tshering share fifth spot with 100 points. The Club Championships final in all three categories will be played over two rounds in January and February.