Rana clinches crown of Mr Kathmandu

Kathmandu, September 10

Nabin Rana of Bhalu Bhairav Gym and Fitness won the title of the Mr Kathmandu Bodybuilding Championship here at Rastriya Nachghar today.

Rana, who won the 75kg weight category event, defeated other five contenders to become the champion. Along with Rana, the winners of their respective weight categories — Amir Thapa (55kg) of Fitness First, Ramesh Karki (60kg) of New Flex and Fitness, Shrijesh Bhakta Shrestha (65kg) of Wellness Organic Club, Ujjwal Bajracharya (70kg) of Divine Physical Fitness and Naresh Malakar (above-70kg) of New Flex were in the race for the title.

Rana earned Rs 100,000 for winning the main title and received Rs 10,000 for becoming first in the 75kg event. Top three builders in all weight categories got Rs 10,000, Rs 5,000 and Rs 3,000 respectively.

Meanwhile, Nanita Maharjan of Divine Physical Fitness claimed the title of the first Women’s Fitness Tournament under the same event. Sandhya Shrestha of Shapes Fitness was runner-up, while Luna Pradhan of Fitness Studio came third. They bagged Rs 20,000, Rs 10,000 and Rs 5,000 respectively. The organiser of the event, Kathmandu District Bodybuilding and Fitness Association awarded Govind Chitrakar with the Lifetime Achievement Award on the occasion.